Archive for February 27, 2011


This morning I decided that trying to measure, count and weigh everything I’m eating is just too much for me in my current mental state so I’m posting what I ate, maybe with approximate amounts. I’ll be back to normal soon enough. Just trying to make this work without going crazy. Just like with working out, sometimes you have to modify. Doing something is better than doing nothing.

Breakfast – Chocolate Shakeology made with 8oz water, 4oz 1% organic milk, 2 ice cubes (let the kids pick the flavor and once again they went with plain chocolate)

AM Snack/Post-workout!! YAY!! – 1 scoop P90X Results and Recovery Drink

Really Late Lunch – some yakisoba noodles, maybe 2c, with about 10 broccoli florets, 10 or so slices zucchini, um…12? slivers of onion, 10ish teriyaki meatball quarters, and enough teriyaki sauce to make it taste good

PM Snack/Dinner I guess – 2 slices whole grain white bread, probably 6 extra thin slices turkey, 1 slice colby jack cheese, however much mustard my son put on for me, and somewhere between 1 and 2Tbs mayo (the good, full-fat kind…none of that fat-free crap that shouldn’t even be called mayo) and a dark chocolate cherry healthy granola bar that didn’t really taste that great.

Dessert – some of the brownies I made for my family (as if I was going to make brownies and not eat ANY…maybe on another day when my brain is functioning properly, but today) and I really do mean some, not everything I didn’t give them. There’s still around half left in the pan. That’s a 9×13 pan and a mini spatula, not some gigantic pan.

See? Also had THREE mini Peppermint Patties (not 6 or 9 or 12) and a cup of coffee made with Trader Joe’s Vanilla non-dairy creamer because I made it for my husband, but he went to sleep instead and I hate wasting things. Am I the only one who gets really thirsty after drinking coffee? Right now, at 8:51pm, I don’t think I could eat another bite, but I feel like I could drink a swimming pool…without chlorine. No, that would be gross either way. Forget the swimming pool. I’m just really, really thirsty.

Total calories – I dunno, Protein, Carbs, Fat, Fiber – also ??

Total calories burned as of 8:59pm – 2073 and will probably burn another 300ish just from being alive. I’ll update if it ends up being much different.

Sumo Squat with Overhead Press – 17.5lbs/10 reps (heavier, fewer reps)

Lunge with Calf Raise – 25lbs/12 reps (heavier, same reps)

Squat with Lateral Raise – 12.5lbs/10 reps (heavier, fewer reps)

Lunge with Frontal Press – 15lbs/10 reps (same weight, fewer reps)

Squat with Calf Raise – 20lbs/12 reps (same weight, same reps)

Sumo Squat with Delt Raises – 10lbs/12 reps (same weight, same reps)

Squat with Double Overhead Press – 15lbs/10 reps + 3 extreme (same weight, same reps)

Lunge with Lateral Raise – 10lbs/12 reps + 3 extreme (same weight, same reps)

Sumo Squat with Calf Raise – 20lbs/12 reps + 3 extreme (heavier, same reps)

Want to see what I did last week? Click here. Now on to the Push Phase!

Sumo Squat with Bicep Curls – 17.5lbs/12 reps (same weight, more reps)

Lunge with One-Arm Tricep Extension – 12.5lbs/12 reps (same weight, more reps)

Dead Lift Row – 20lbs/12 reps (heavier, more reps)

Sumo Squat with Overhead Tricep Extension 20lbs/12 reps (same weight, more reps)

Dead Lift with Double Row – 17.5lbs/10 reps (same weight, same reps)

Bowler’s Lunge with Single-Arm Row – 17.5lbs/12 reps (same weight, more reps)

Bicep Curls with Abductor Balance – 15lbs/12 reps + 3 extreme (same weight, more reps)

Forward-Lean Lunge with Double Row – 20lbs/12 reps + 3 extreme (heavier, same reps)

Triple-Threat Push-Ups – 12 reps on knees + 3 extreme (same)

Want to see what I did last week? Click here.

Sumo Squat with Hip Lift – 25lbs/12 reps (heavier, same reps)

Lunge with Posterior Fly – 15lbs/12 reps (same weight, more reps)

Push-Up with Leg Lift – 10 on knees (more reps)

Dead Lift with Posterior Fly – 10lbs/12 reps (same weight, same reps)

Lunge with Core Rotation – 25lbs/12 reps (same weight, same reps)

Bench Press nd Leg Lower – 15lbs/12 reps/10 leg lowers (less weight, more reps) Oops, didn’t check sheet for last week’s weight and went too light.

Squat with Side Bend – 25lbs/10 reps + 3 extreme (heavier, fewer reps)

Forward-Lean Lunge with DBL Arm Post Fly – 10lbs/12 reps + 3 extreme (same weight, same reps)

Chest Fly with Hip Lift – 15lbs/12 reps + 3 extreme (same weight, same reps)

Want to see what I did last week? Click here.

Sumo Squat with Overhead Press – 15lbs/12 reps (same weight, more reps)

Lunge with Calf Raise – 20lbs/12 reps (heavier, same reps)

Squat with Lateral Raise – 10lbs/12 reps (same weight, same reps)

Lunge with Frontal Press – 15lbs/12 reps (same weight, same reps)

Squat with Calf Raise – 20lbs/12 reps (heavier, same reps)

Sumo Squat with Delt Raises – 10lbs/12 reps (same weight, same reps)

Squat with Double Overhead Press – 15lbs/10 reps + 3 extreme (same weight, same reps)

Lunge with Lateral Raise – 10lbs/12 reps + 3 extreme (same weight, same reps)

Sumo Squat with Calf Raise – 15lbs/12 reps + 3 extreme (same weight, same reps)

Want to see what I did last week? (although, most was the same) Click here for Week 2.

Sumo Squat with Bicep Curl – 17.5lbs/10 reps (heavier, fewer reps)

Lunge with One-Arm Tricep Extension – 12.5lbs/10 reps (heavier, fewer reps)

Dead Lift Row – 17.5lbs/10reps (heavier, fewer reps)

Sumo Squat with Overhead Tricep Extension – 20lbs/11 reps (same weight, more reps)

Dead Lift with Double Row – 17.5lbs/10 reps (heavier, same reps)

Bowler’s Lunge with Single-Arm Row – 17.5lbs/10 reps (heavier, fewer reps)

Bicep Curls with Abductor Balance – 15lbs/10 reps (same weight, fewer reps)

Forward-Lean Lunge with Double Row – 17.5lbs/12 reps + 3 extreme (heavier, same reps)

Triple-Threat Push-Ups – 12 on knees + 3 extreme (more reps)

Want to see what I did last time? Click here.

I weighed in this morning, not because I wanted to, but because it’s my day to do so and I have to stay accountable. I was up 3 lbs from last week. Hmm. Thinking about this logically, there’s no way I gained 3 lbs of fat, even with my latest indiscretions. Weight fluctuates constantly and I’ve been building muscle and half of what I ate the night before was probably still in my stomach (ewww) AND I’ve eaten about a month’s worth of sodium in the past week so at least part of it has to be water weight. Whatever. In the grand scheme of things it’s not that big of a deal…as long as it doesn’t continue.

I decided to do two shakes today hoping it would help with the crazy craving I’ve been having at night. My usual morning one gets me through just fine until late afternoon, but after dinner is when it all goes to….wherever. Only on “these” days, though. When I’m myself, I do just fine at night with a little help from my willpower. Anyway, the second shake definitely helped with the cravings. It was my own self-sabotaging tendencies that got me.

Pre-breakfast – 1 banana (needed something so my metabolism would kick into gear, but wasn’t ready to make my shake before my 7:30am non-“group” walk because the kids still weren’t up yet – and I still wasn’t going to wash the blender twice)

Breakfast – Chocolate Shakeology made with 8oz water, 4oz 1% organic milk, a little vanilla extract and a dash of cinnamon

AM Snack – P90X Chocolate Peanut Butter protein bar

Lunch – Greenberry Shakeology made with 10oz Stash mango passionfruit tea, 4oz mango puree from Trader Joe’s, 1 packet Truvia, 5 ice cubes, 1 scoop Shakeology Fiber Boost

PM Snack – 1 1/2c sliced cucumber, 1/4c hummus, 2 97% fat-free Hebrew National hot dogs, 2Tbs Simply Heinz ketchup (I don’t know why I can’t get this to go to the left, but I’m wasting time trying to figure it out)

Appetizer – my younger son set up a cafe on our deck while I took my older son to his basketball game and when we got home he had cheese and crackers set out for us (yes, it was 33 degrees, but I ate it out there anyway because I didn’t want him to think I didn’t appreciate it) 8 Saltine crackers, 1 wedge Weight Watchers spreadable Swiss cheese

Dinner – (which we picked up on the way home not knowing my son was making food for us) 1 Taco Bell 7-Layer burrito, 1 Taco Bell bean burrito

I was feeling totally fine and satisfied and then that thing kicked in where I started thinking about all the stuff I couldn’t have. This is why dieting fails. The more you try and restrict yourself, the more you obsess until you just give in. By the time I’d eaten the Taco Bell, I’d consumed about 2300 calories which would hardly be considered “dieting”. Normally, I would’ve been more than fine with that. But not this day. Oh no. I just had to have 3 more of those mini Peppermint Patties…dessert. Those 3 turned into 6 and then I stopped counting. I honestly have not idea what my final calorie count was so I’ll just show you what it would’ve been had I stopped after those first 3 Peppermint Patties. (Notice that other than walking, I’ve not mentioned a post-workout drink for a few days. That’s because I’ve not done ChaLEAN Extreme for three days. This has to stop immediately. I can feel myself being pulled back into that cycle and I’m going to fight it with everything I’ve got.)

Total calories through the 3 Peppermint Patties – 2437, Protein – 116 grams, Carbs – 379 grams, Fat – 63 grams, Fiber – 48 grams

Protein 18%, Carbs 59%, Fat 23%

Had I stopped there I would’ve actually had a deficit. Total calories burned – 2629.