Archive for February 21, 2011


The kids didn’t have school today so I ended up sleeping in. That, and the fact that I’m addicted to facebook left me with exactly 2 minutes to make my breakfast and get going on my walk. Even though no one from the apartment has shown up yet for the walking group I still feel the need to be there on time just in case. So, I threw some water, milk, and a scoop of Chocolate Shakeology into my handy dandy shaker cup and off I went. As always, scroll over images for more info. 🙂

It won’t be long before those honeysuckle bushes(?) will be covered with blooms and filling the air with their intoxicating scent. Today was so beautiful and sunny it made me long for Spring. Just look at that bright, blue sky!

I headed onto the path that runs along the south side of the stream and stumbled upon this. If you’re not sure what it is, scroll over the picture.

Um, thanks…I guess. I didn’t quite understand why they went to the trouble of the bag, but not throwing it away. You may be wondering, as I was as I walked on, why I didn’t just pick it up and throw it away myself if it bothered me that much. Well, one hand was busy holding my breakfast and the other was busy taking pictures of things like bags of poop. My only other option was to put it in my jacket pocket until I came upon a trash can. Turns out there are limits to my sense of community service. Just as I was thinking that person was for the birds I noticed an actual bird out of the corner of my eye. Crane? Heron? Bird lovers help me out here.

Taking a different trail took me past a part of Alton Baker Park I don’t normally visit, but I was there before when my brother came to visit in 2009. He introduced us to geocaching which was a lot of fun. This was one of the areas where we found some.

I really wish my camera would wake up faster. If it did, you might have been able to see the worm in this little guy’s beak. Unfortunately, I got the shot just after he gobbled it up.

Near the bridge, there’s this tree that I love. I have a question, though. Isn’t moss only supposed to grow facing one direction? Maybe it’s not moss.

I’m starting to notice some “regulars” when I’m out walking in the morning. Like the lady who brings her dog because he like to chase the squirrels. I recommended Dorris Ranch. She knew the place well and said they call it Squirrelville. : ) So, if you’re walking or running through Alton Baker Park and see a lady with red hair and a camera (possibly wearing spandex) stop and say hi! Maybe I’ll take your picture. 😉

I knew I’d be faced with pizza and cake at the end of the day so I tried to keep my meals light the rest of the day. I even skipped my afternoon snack. Big mistake. Because I had done ChaLEAN Extreme Burn It Off and Recharge in the afternoon, I was famished by the time the pizza was served. When it was all said and done I had eaten basically the same amount of calories that I burned for the day so it could’ve been worse, but I normally eat 1,000 – 1,500 calories less than what I burn. We’ll see how it all turns out when I weigh myself at the end of the week. Last week was a great success with 5.6 lbs gone. : ) I’ll be happy if I lose anything this week.

Breakfast – Chocolate Shakeology with 8oz water, 4oz 1% milk, 1/4tsp cinnamon, ice

AM Snack – P90X Chocolate Peanut Butter protein bar (they’re quite addictive, but really good for you!)

Lunch – Sandwich made with 2 slices Dave’s Killer Bread, 2Tbs hummus, 1 Weight Watchers Swiss cheese wedge, 2 large leaves romaine lettuce, 3in or so of an English cucumber, sliced; 1 banana; 2 mandarin oranges

PM Snack – nothin’

Dinner – Here’s where it gets bad…5 thin slices of pizza with black olives and pineapple (my son’s favorite) and 3 thin slices of cheese pizza (so the equivalent of 4 regular sized slices from a large pizza); not 1, but 2 slices of chocolate cake which was eaten at home later because there was no way I could’ve eaten anything else right after all that pizza

Late Snack – I’ve been good about avoiding eating late ever since I’ve started posting my food journal, but not this time. Here’s the ugly…my husband had left a good bit of frosting from his slice of cake uneaten and when I discovered it there all lonely on the plate as I was cleaning up I ate it without much thought other than, “Well, I guess I’m going to have to count this, too.” The unbelievable thing is that even after the extra frosting I actually considered eating a snack sized bag of M&Ms. I can say, though, that not eating it was major progress. I thought about how I would feel if I did and decided it wasn’t worth it. Whoo hoo!

Total Calories – 2439, Protein – 113 grams, Carbs – 371 grams, Fat 68 grams, Fiber 27 grams

Protein 18%, Carbs 58%, Fat 24%