“I can’t believe she’s wearing spandex.” I’m sure that’s what some of the people I passed on my walk today were thinking. Being a little behind on laundry, my only choices for covering the bottom half of my body this morning were skin tight running pants or jeans. It was raining so jeans were out of the question and so was skipping my walk. Even though I was fairly certain no one was going to join me because of the weather I was determined to do it anyway.

The only waterproof jacket we have in the apartment belongs to my husband (odd considering we live in a place where it rains A LOT). He’s not a big man so in order to be able to wear it I had to choose a shirt that wasn’t bulky…again spandex. With still over 100 lbs to lose, let’s just say I’ve got some curves. As I stepped through my front door I started having flashbacks from those dreams where you’re in a public place…naked. I reminded myself that it doesn’t matter what other people think and that there probably wouldn’t be many people out today anyway. I have to admit, I was torn. Part of me wished I had a big sign around my neck that read, “I know I have no business wearing spandex, but it’s all I had today!” Part of me knew it really didn’t matter if I gave some people a laugh and the rest weren’t even paying attention.

As I began looking for things to take pictures of I forget to be self-conscious and had a wonderful time out in the rain. I had almost as much fun playing with today’s photos in Picasa. Scroll over images for info and enjoy. : )

As I was taking this next shot, I noticed a lady calling after her Siberian Husky which had taken off into the street. The more she called for it to come back, the farther away it ran. For a moment, it stopped about 5 ft from me and I realized just a moment too late that she was yelling for me to try and grab the dog. I’m not exactly the kind of person who’s inclined to reaching out to grab strange dogs. I wanted to get a shot of the dog, but it wouldn’t stay still long enough. I tried calling it to no avail so I continued walking.

Made it over to Alton Baker Park. The building shown below is the public restroom. It has stalls with no doors. It belongs in my Emergency Use Only file.

You used to be able to feed the ducks and geese at Alton Baker Park, but now they’ve asked people to stop because it was bad for the birds and bad for the people using the park. These ducks didn’t seem to get the memo.

Headed back along the North Bank Trail, back to the bridge I crossed over the other day.

There were plenty of other things I could’ve taken photos of today, like the squirrel that let me get a little too close or the blue bird looking for its breakfast or the view of the trail that looked like it lead into an enchanted forest, but some things are best experienced first hand. If you haven’t gotten outside and taken the time to really look at the world lately, I highly recommend it…even if it means wearing spandex. 😉