My biggest struggle when it comes to losing weight and getting in shape isn’t working out…I’ve learned to love pushing myself to the max. It’s food. And not even what I eat throughout the day. I can be really “good” all day, but at night something kicks in and I just want to eat and eat and eat. It’s not because I’m hungry. It used to be because I was depressed, but that’s not the case now. It seems to just be a deeply ingrained habit that comes from years gone by. After the kids have gone to bed and my husband is busy tutoring online I automatically start to reach for something to eat. I don’t crave junk food anymore since I’ve been drinking Shakeology, but the habit of stuffing myself with high fat/salt/sugar foods remains a force to reckon with. I don’t sit around thinking, “Oh, I wish I could eat some ice cream or chips or candy.” There’s really no thought involved. It’s just an automatic ritual unless I’m making a huge effort to avoid it.

Just as with working out, the best way to succeed is to have accountability and the more people you’re accountable to, the better. So, I’m going to keep a journal of everything I eat and make myself accountable to everyone who has access to the internet. For years and years, I’ve hidden my eating habits from everyone around me and even if not one single person out there cares what I put in my mouth the fact that I’m willing to share that information with the world is progress. I can finally free myself from the habits that have kept me from being my best. So here we go…this is what I ate today.

Breakfast – Chocolate Shakeology made with 8 oz water, 4 oz Silk PureAlmond Vanilla and 2 ice cubes

AM Snack – 1/2 cup low-fat cottage cheese and 1 popcorn rice cake

Lunch – 1 cup homemade chili made with ground turkey, pinto and black beans, onions, diced tomato, seasonings

               Salad – 6 cups romaine, 1/4 tomato, 1/2 English cucumber, 1 1/2 Tbs. Vidalia Onion dressing

               Medium pink lady apple

PM Snack – P90X Chocolate Peanut Butter protein bar

Dinner – 6 teriyaki chicken meatballs, 1 cup yakisoba noodles, 1/4 cup mushrooms, teriyaki sauce, 1 cup peas and Yoplait Light Harvest Peach, 1 Ruby Red grapefruit

Total calories 1717 – Protein 119 grams – Carbs 231 grams – Fat 41 grams – Fiber 30 grams

Protein 27%/Carbs 52%/Fat 21%

