If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you know that I used to post a daily food journal. After a while I started to whine and complain about it and say that it was driving me crazy. Soon after, I began to slack off more and more, making adjustments to the way I posted and how often and now I just throw a recipe up every once in a while. Well, the reality is that I have a lifetime of bad eating habits to deal with and I need the accountability because just as my journaling has slacked off, so have my eating habits. And that’s not ok because I’ve put a lot of time and effort into getting fit and healthy! I’m not about to throw that all away because it can be a pain to actually pay attention to every single thing I eat.

Maybe that seems a bit melodramatic, but I’ve been on the weight loss rollercoaster long enough to know how easy it is to slide back into old habits and one day wake up realizing that those jeans that were getting so loose they were falling off are starting to fit a little too well again. Nope, I’m not letting that happen again. Time to put my foot down, put on my big girl panties (referring to maturity, not size…ha ha), quit complaining and just do it. Please feel free to remind me of this post when my resolve starts to weaken again which I know it will. Success isn’t about always feeling like doing what you need to do, but doing it even when you don’t feel like it.

Breakfast – Chocolate Shakeology with 2 tsp peanut butter, 1/2 c organic vanilla Silk, water and ice – 250 cals

AM Snack – 1/4 c Meza hummus and 3 celery stalks – 140 cals

Lunch – hmmm, this was technically dinner because I slept from about 11 am to 3pm. I have kind of a weird schedule because I stay up really late (at least 3am) to spend time with my husband who’s schedule is even crazier than mine. Anyway, I had 4oz chicken breast seasoned with Season-All (keeping it simple) – 187 cals, 3 cups Romaine with 2 Tbs Wishbone Italian dressing – 105 cals, and 2 cups broccoli potato soup – 220 cals, which was a happy accident. I intended to make mashed potatoes and gravy, but realized I only had three smallish potatoes. Not exactly enough for four people. I thought about posting a separate recipe, but it was so ridiculously easy I’m just going to include it here.

I peeled 3 small to medium potatoes and cut them in large cubes. Then I cut up about 3 cups broccoli including the stem which I peeled first. All of that went into about 4 cups boiling water and simmered uncovered until the potatoes and broccoli were soft enough to blend. I dropped in 2 chicken bouillon cubes, 1 tsp dried minced onion and 3 cloves of garlic, pressed. Then I blended until smooth (a hand blender works great for this). Finally, I combined one 12 oz can of evaporated milk (cream cheese would work, too, like I used in the Potato Corn Chowder) with 2 Tbs cornstarch in another container. Once it was mixed well I slowly poured it into the soup, stirring constantly until it thickened. Finally, I added a little kosher salt and plenty of black pepper. When I served it I sprinkled mine with cayenne pepper.

It’s almost 8pm now and the only other thing I plan on eating between now and midnight is 1 cup plain nonfat yogurt with a sliced banana, a packet of Truvia and a few drops of coconut extract. – 210 cals

Total calories – 1112, Protein – 88 g, Carbs – 121 g, Fat – 36 g, Fiber 16 g

I’m sure I’ll eat something else before I go to bed, but I’ll include it in tomorrow’s post. See you then!

