Archive for May 4, 2011


Got off track a bit (see the reason here), but I wasn’t going to start the Push Phase over again or I’d never make it to the Lean Phase. I’m also participating in a challenge posted by another Beachbody coach on facebook where we’re doing 3000 squats/lunges in the month of May. Going to be lookin’ good by June 1st. 😉

Standard Bicep Curl – 20lbs/7 reps (same as last time)

Standard Squat – 25lbs each hand/8 reps (same as last time – these are the heaviest weights we have)

Single Arm Bent-Over Tricep Extension – 12.5lbs/8 reps (lighter than last time, more reps – I wanted good form)

V-Press Biceps – 15lbs/8 reps + 3 extreme (same as last time, with better form)

Single-Leg Squat – 25lbs each hand/8 reps + 3 extreme (same as last time)

Overhead Tricep Extension – 25lbs/8 reps + 3 extreme (same as last time)

Hammer Curls – 15lbs/8 reps + 3 extreme (lighter weight, more reps)

Heel Squat – 25lbs each hand/8 reps + 3 extreme (same as last time)

Push-ups – 6 on knees + 3 extreme (fewer reps, better form/lower chest)

If you’re wondering how many squats are in this workout including those in the warm-up, it’s 66 if you do all 8 reps for each move. Just saying. 🙂

I think I’m falling in love…with fresh sage. I bought some from Trader Joe’s a few days ago for a Martha Stewart recipe that involved browning chicken sausages then simmering them in apple cider with fresh sage, onion, salt and pepper until the cider reduces to a delicious, syrupy glaze. Usually when I buy fresh herbs I forget about them until it’s too late and remorsefully discard them. This time I remembered the sage was in the fridge and that it goes great with turkey. A quick google search led me to a few easy recipes for turkey tetrazzini which I modified to work with what we had on hand. The finished product was delightful. Here’s the recipe. Serves 4-6

12 oz uncooked pasta of your choice ( I used organic gemelli)

1Tbs extra virgin olive oil

1 small yellow onion, chopped small

2 large stalks celery, diced

10 oz sliced mushrooms (I used pre-sliced ones from Trader Joe’s)

1 jar Ragu Light Parmesan Alfredo sauce

2 c cubed, cooked turkey breast

4-5 fresh sage leaves, sliced in thin strips

Kosher salt and black pepper to taste

1. heat olive oil on medium in large skillet

2. saute onions, celery and mushrooms until soft

3. while veggies are cooking, boil pasta according to directions on package and drain

4. add cubed turkey to skillet and heat through

5. add sauce, sage, salt and pepper to skillet and heat through

6. add cooked pasta to skillet and toss to coat

7. garnish with sage leaves if desired and enjoy!