You may be wondering, “What is this Shakeology 3-Day Cleanse of which she speaks?” Well, basically it’s a 3-day cleanse using Shakeology. Sorry, just couldn’t help myself. Seriously, though. You follow the same plan for three days in a row which includes drinking  three shakes made with water and ice (one for breakfast…and you can add some fruit to that one…one for lunch and one for an afternoon or evening snack). You have a piece of fruit for a morning snack and dinner consists of a large salad, 4oz lean white protein like chicken or fish or beans for vegetarians, and 2Tbs lowfat salad dressing. You also drink a lot of water and some green or detox tea without sugar or artificial sweetener (stevia is fine). The purpose of the cleanse is to jump-start a weightloss program or hit the reset button by cleaning out excess water weight and toxins, but without starving yourself.

This is the third time I’ve done the cleanse. Well, the second time around I didn’t do the three full days so it’s more like 2 2/3. I decided it was time for another round because I’ve been eating a lot of high sodium foods lately and I feel fluffy. Plus, it’s recommended to do a cleanse with the changing of the seasons so it’s a good time since it’s the beginning of Spring. The first time I did it I lost over 8 lbs. which was pretty amazing and the second time it was over 4 lbs., still a great result considering I only stuck with it for two days. I won’t know how much I’ve lost this time because I lent my scale to a friend a couple of weeks ago so I don’t know my starting weight. It doesn’t really matter to me, though. I’m doing it because I want to feel “clean” again, if that makes sense. I’ve always felt great after I’ve done it and found myself craving the healthiest of foods afterwards. Always a good thing. I also struggle with remembering to drink enough water daily and doing the cleanse helps me to be properly hydrated. I believe the term for it is homeostasis. Whatever it’s called, I like it.

My sleeping schedule has almost completely shifted to that of someone who works a night shift so I didn’t have my first shake until after 2pm. I made it with 8oz water, 1 scoop chocolate Shakeology, 1 scoop Shakeology fiber boost, 1 small banana and 4 ice cubes.  So far, I’ve had 16oz water and need to step that up. I’ll continue to check in through the day and night.

Ok, it’s now 10:46pm and so far so good. Around 6:00pm I was waiting for my kids to get done with their karate class and realized I should be eating some fruit. Since I hadn’t planned ahead I went to Albertson’s to find something. I have no idea how people can afford to shop there on a regular basis. I walked around, fairly hungry, but not at all tempted because of sticker shock. I finally decided on a 10oz bag of organic frozen strawberries that was on sale for $2.79. I drove back to the dojo and used my teeth to rip open the bag because even though it was resealable, it had to be cut open. I ate half the bag, or about 1 cup, for 70 calories and 4 grams of fiber. It was enough to tide me over for a while.

I was feeling great when we got home and it was still light outside so I went for a walk. Since I still had two shakes and the salad with protein to eat I figured I’d better get to it. As soon as I got back I made another shake with 8oz water, 1 scoop Chocolate Shakeology, 1 scoop Shakeology fiber boost, 4 ice cubes and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. It was delicious. I forgot how good it feels to be only consuming healthy food. I don’t even know if I could put it into words, but it’s something like feeling energized and balanced and clean and light. It’s all good. Delightful even.

After I fed my husband and kids I made the salad with “artisan” lettuce, 1 tomato, 4 radishes, and two small carrots. Not feeling like dealing with raw chicken, I opened a can of organic garbanzo beans from Trader Joe’s. I knew those would come in handy someday. I topped the salad with about half the can and 2Tbs of lowfat cilantro dressing, also from Trader Joe’s. It was a lot of food and very satisfying. Now I just have one shake to drink before I go to bed. I think I’ll have it around midnight since I’ve been going to bed around 3:00am. I’d also like to get in at least another two liters of water. So far I’ve had four. I was supposed to drink two cups of tea, but that hasn’t happened yet. We’ll see. Actually, maybe I’ll make some right now. Talk to you tomorrow…Day 2.

