“Never, never, never give up.” – Winston Churchill

There are so many times I’ve wanted to throw in the towel and be done with it all. I even attempted to commit suicide in high school. Not exactly something I’m proud of. If my friends hadn’t intervened I wouldn’t be here writing this today. Now it seems like a lifetime ago or even the life of someone else. At the time, I felt like I had put a lot of thought into the decision, but the reality is that it was extremely impulsive. It’s quite sobering to think how easily we can make a decision that will completely change the course of our lives…or end it.

I’ve always been great at starting things, but as I look back there are very few things I’ve stuck with all the way to completion. Even recently I decided to start a local weightloss challenge. Flyers went out to 240 families plus a few friends were invited. As the first meeting approached I had no idea how many would show up, but I was hoping for a lot. But just like the walking group, no one from the apartments showed up. Ok then. As much as I wanted to have a positive attitude I was seriously irritated and discouraged. Of course, there was still the group of friends who wanted to join, but couldn’t make it to the first meeting. I was so tempted to give up and forget the whole thing because it didn’t go as I had planned.

Just when I was about to tell everyone the challenge was cancelled, I had a conversation with a fellow coach that made me realize my motives were all wrong. Instead of thinking of the group as just a way to build my business I should’ve been focussing on the individuals who were excited to be getting help with losing weight and living healthier lifestyles which is really what this is all about. I have no doubt that the time spent working with the group will not only be good for them, but for me, too. I had forgotten that everything happens for a reason and almost ruined it for them and me. Now I’m excited to get back on track with the challenge even if it’s not exactly as I originally planned. 

It’s been said that it’s always darkest before the dawn and so often we give up right before we receive the amazing things that were meant for us. The hard part is hanging in there when, from our limited perspective, it seems the perfect time to quit. If we know we’re trying to accomplish something that will improve the lives of others or ourselves we have to keep going, to be relentless. We may get tired and the temptation to quit will be there, but we have to keep going one step at a time even if all we can see is that one step in front of us. The more we exercise our faith the stronger it will get. That doesn’t mean that life will get easier and the temptation to quit will go away, but we will find ourselves able to take on bigger and better things.

People who have accomplished great things didn’t suddenly wake up one day able to do them just like a person who can lift heavy weights wasn’t able to do it the first time they tried. It’s a process of overcoming increasing challenges. A person who starts off only able to lift 5lbs has the potential to lift 50lbs, but they’ll never be able to do it if they quit when the weight increases. We have to be willing to push through the challenges even if it hurts a bit at the time because that’s the only way we will be able to accomplish more. Never give up. If you keep going, no matter how hard, you’ll back at your life and know it was all worth it.

