No, I’m not describing my workout, although it would qualify. I’m talking about a good laugh. When was the last time you laughed so hard you cried, people were telling you to breathe and you used ab muscles you forgot were there? If you don’t remember then it’s time to do something about it! I believe we are all capable of experiencing the pure joy that comes from a good laugh. Babies certainly know how to do it. Check out this one. Even if you’ve already seen it, it never gets old. I think it’s one of my favorite videos of all time because it always makes me laugh. Breathe, baby, breathe!

Today, one of my friends joined me for my walk. See? Here’s proof. 🙂

As we walked, we talked and laughed. I think we may have done more laughing than talking which probably made us burn even more calories and there’s nothing wrong with that! Every once in a while I’d remember that I was supposed to be taking pictures.

I love seeing signs that Spring is just around the corner.

I love Spring because it’s like all of nature hits the reset button, just like a good laugh. You know that feeling, when you finally settle down, let out a big sigh and wipe the tears from your eyes, still grinning ear to ear. It’s like a huge weight is lifted and you can keep going, no matter what you’re dealing with. Like you can breathe again.

The best kind of laughter comes from a heart filled with love. Sure, we can laugh at others and it may feel good for a second or two, but deep down we know it’s not right and the joy is tainted. There are plenty of things to find humor in without bringing other people down. Sometimes my kids say the most hilarious things and we all have a good laugh and there’s nothing more freeing than being able to laugh at yourself. Somewhere along the way many of us became reserved, unable to just let loose, but if we can recapture the pure, bold, unashamed joy of a baby who’s delighted by the simplest things each new day will feel like we’ve hit the reset button. As adults living stressful lives, who couldn’t use that?

Instead of focussing on the negatives, I hope today we can look for some joy. And like I said before, we always find what we’re looking for…one way or the other. 😉

